Questions & Answers: Riding METRO

On this page, you can get answers to common questions about riding METRO, all in one place.

Contacting MPD

Call or text METRO Police at 713-224-COPS (2677).

If you’d prefer to submit a report, you can visit the METRO Police section of the ONE to Ride App.

Activities that are threatening to yourself or others should be reported immediately. Please do either or both of the following:

  • Call 911
  • Alert the operator or fare inspector so they can intervene or contact the METRO Police Department

In a non-emergency situation, you can also report crimes by calling or texting MPD at 713-224-COPS (2677).

Call MPD at 713-224-COPS (2677). The information you give over the phone determines if a police officer will be dispatched to speak with you in person.

Yes. To offer tips, call the non-emergency line at 713-224-COPS (2677). You may also call Crime Stoppers at 713-222-TIPS (8477).

For emergencies, dial 911.

To search for an accident report, you must have the date of the accident and the name of anyone listed on the accident report. 

Please allow five business days after the accident has occurred before trying to access it. Some accident reports may require additional time to process. 

The fee to obtain an accident report is $6.00.

The fee to obtain an accident report online or in person is $6. To obtain one, you can do either of the following:

1. Visit the METRO RideStore at Downtown Transit Center (1900 Main Street, First Floor), Mon.-Fri., 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

2. Access the report online at least five business days after the accident has occurred. Some accident reports may require additional time to process.

For more information, call METRO Police Department Records Section at 713-615-6480.

You may choose either to pay METRO a $75 administrative fee or resolve it through the City of Houston Municipal Courts. 

If you pay the $75 fine directly to METRO, it must be received within 30 days from when the ticket was issued.

By doing that:

  • You won’t have to appear in court
  • The complaint against you will be dismissed without any criminal finding
  • You waive your right to a jury trial

Otherwise, you may proceed through the judicial system by following the instructions on the citation.

You can pay by U.S. mail or in person at the MPD Records Window.

U.S. Mail (check or money order only, payable to “Metropolitan Transit Authority”):

METRO Police Department 
Records Section, 13th Floor
1900 Main St.
Houston, Texas 77002

In person:

1900 Main St.
First floor in the RideStore
Hours of operation: Mon-Fri, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

You can pay with cash, personal check (with proper ID), cashier’s check, money order or credit/debit card.

Call Lost & Found at 713-658-0854, or email


Buffalo Bayou
810 N San Jacinto St.
Houston, Texas 77002

Administration office Hours:

Mon-Fri, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

MPD operates 24 hours a day 365 days a year.

Browser not supported

It appears you’re on an older web browser we don’t support. Please try one of the options below so you can view the METRO website.