Arts in Transit TSU / UH Athletics District

TSU / UH Athletics District platform

The artwork of the TSU / UH Athletics District Station commemorates prominent African American educators. This design honors greats such as John Henry “Jack” Yates, founder of the Freedmen’s Academy, which would later become Texas Southern University, and Raphael O’Hara Lanier, the first president of TSU in 1948. Other prominent educators featured include former HISD superintendent and United States Secretary of Education Rod Paige, as well as black dentist and civil rights activist Lonnie Smith.

Artist Carroll Parrott Blue and Sharon Johnston, A.I.A.

Contributing Artists Albert Chu, Amanda Moschel, Johnston Marklee, Natalia Beard, NBB Design Partners, LLC, SWA Group

TSU / UH Athletics District platform 

View Station Design


Adobe Acrobat Reader Logo Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free software for viewing and printing PDF files.